habit #1

December 28, 2007 at 8:51 pm (domestic life, resolution, Uncategorized)

I am not crazy about the idea of New Year’s resolutions. Something about starting All New Stuff after the Holidays is almost dooming everything . So I don’t do resolutions. However, I will occasionally set out to change a behavior, or set up a goal. And after Christmas, as things calm down and return to normal, it isn’t unusual for me to try and make a change in my life.

Here is the first habit I would like to add to my life.

Put my clothes away.

I’ve never been good at that. Ask my mom. But now I share a 10′ by 10′ room with my husband, and the piles of clothes are getting to me. I am never going to want to put away all my clothes after doing the laundry. Only vacuuming and calling people I don’t know are worse chores. So I’ve decicded that I will put a few pieces away every day. Maybe I’ll even catch up occasionally. Moving forward has got to be better than pretending there are no mountains of clothes in our room.And I am not waiting to start on the first. I am heading to my bedroom now

5 Comments

  1. Kari said,

    Every time I move, I have the movers empty the boxes of clothes on my bed. It makes me put them away. So I start out well in a new place and then things go bad. But I may be in luck here – I seem to have adequate storage space for my clothes. I think that’s always been a problem, not enough draw space for the clothes.

    Good luck with it!

  2. egb63 said,

    thanks ! so far it hasn’t been as good as I hoped…. but I’ve been busy. In fact, maybe I should go put away a few things now….

  3. daniebob said,

    It’s been easier for me to put my clothes away now that I’ve gotten my own place. They used to live in the garage next to the dryer, but now that the dryer is a 10 minute drive away it’s not so convenient any more. With my hunny, the problem wasn’t that he didn’t want to put his clothes away, it was that he had too many for the space (I’m with you there, Kari).

  4. egb63 said,

    Admitidly, I don’t have a lot of space. , but I redid the closet and have a system. Unfortunatley any system that is more complicated than folded clothes in a basket feels like work. Our bedroom is too small for that system.

  5. all my clothes « egb63’s Weblog said,

    […] 25, 2009 at 5:54 pm (Uncategorized) Last December I thought I would try to start a new habit, trying to put away my clothes. It is hard to do because our bedroom is tiny and the storage is […]

Leave a Reply

