flickr

January 6, 2008 at 3:52 pm (learning 2.0, library tech, social networking) (, , , )

I guess this is confession time. I consider myself both technical and mechanical,but you would never guess it by my approach to learning new stuff. At best, I get cranky about it. I look at it – get intimidated, close it down. Then I think about it, worry about it, and complain about it. Then I sit down and do it.

Flickr was especially hard because I have used kodakGallery for years. But then, all I was interested in was sharing photos. Flickr has a whole bunch of other things it can do like map where I took the photos, or add notes to the photos. Of course, I’m trying to learn as much as I can as quickly as I can – which isn’t really what most people would do . What surprised me was the sudden arrival of emails from  people that have put me on their contact list. I didn’t even know that was a part of flickr, until it happened. A pleasant surprise, but a surprise none the less.

I’ve spent a lot more time than the 30 minutes I am given to do this at work. But curiosity wouldn’t let me just skim this – I need to know. I’m actually heading back to flickr, but maybe after a nap

1 Comment

  1. daniebob said,

    I’m in the same boat. I’ve heard about this program, but never thought I’d have to learn it since I’ve used other programs just fine… but now I know better.

Leave a Reply

