blog stats

January 29, 2008 at 9:47 pm (learning 2.0, social networking, web 2.0) (, , , )

I watch my blog stats.  I am fascinated by them.  Generally 15-22 people read my blog in a day.  Sometimes, when I link to my blog where my online friends post, I might get 40 – 60 hits.  When I posted about LibraryThing I got about 140 hits.  For the first time, I  felt the panic that a lot of people  feel about the whole on line social networking thing.  I  had no idea  why people were reading my blog , and who they could be. I figured out that 1) LibraryThing liked my post and 2) wordpress  had also linked to my blog – maybe I had the right tag? Anyway, it was a day of fame and maybe a few people will come back .  That  would be cool.  I do think I understand a little more why people can get nervous about the idea of meeting and sharing  with strangers they can’t even see.

2 Comments

  1. Susan1000 said,

    It is better when folks comment so you have some idea what it was that you said or tagged that sent them your way. The communication and ideas generated are greater than the number of participants. I think it beats the pants off listservs. But library folk have also been great at sharing.

  2. egb63 said,

    I have to say – it was a kick getting a comment from one of the librarins at LibraryThing saying they wanted to put my post on the buzz page.
    When I read other blogs I like to read through all the comments, it is like being in a very slow conversation.

Leave a Reply

