Holes

February 20, 2008 at 9:35 pm (book review, library) (, , )

I love this book. Tomorrow I have my book discussion group with 4th and 5th graders. Most of them are reading the book for the first time. They still tend to be a bit literal, but I’m seeing signs that they are starting to make bigger connections. But for tomorrow, I just hope they really like the book. Maybe we will talk about luck, and about coincidence. I am wondering what their favorite parts will be. Will they like the story of Kissin’ Kate, or focus more on Stanley? Or maybe Zero? What I truly love about this book is the movement from the here and now, or reality if you will, to the world of myth and legend.

Leave a Reply

