Five things I love about Niles

February 24, 2008 at 4:01 pm (niles) ()

As I’ve said before ,I live in the Niles district of my town. For California, it feels unique because we live in an area that still has lots of its historic past visible. Here are my top 5 favorite things:

5. The Silent Film Museum
I love history, so it is nice to be in a place where people are excited about it. There are films shown every Saturday night with live musical accompaniment. I don’t go often, but it is a lot of fun.

4. The Alameda Creek Trail
We can get to the trail in a couple of different ways from our neighborhood. All along the trail you can see lots of waterbirds and watch the fish in the canal. One side of the trail is unpaved, the other side is paved. It goes all the way out to the SF bay. So you can go on a short walk or a long bike ride with a picnic.

3. The Essanay Cafe
Good food, good wine,walking distance from my house. The chef, Annie Woods, is incredible. She uses as much organic locally grown and raised meats and produce. Her crab bisque, sublime. And she turned me into a duck lover. I love that I can go and have her incredible soup and salad with a glass of wine or go all out and have an amazing meal. We’ve also gone down for a glass of port and dessert. Yum .

2 The Nile Cafe

No web site here. This is one of those true, local places. The decor is a funky mix of Egyptian murals, some train stuff, and boat stuff. The food is good and slightly unusual. ( pear and fontina omelet , oh my. and the soups -mmm).The service isn’t fast, but it is a good place to sit for awhile and catch up with the neighbors.

1. My Neighbors

I mean my neighbors, not my friends. I have a lot of friends, but I also have a lot of good neighbors. I feel like there are a whole bunch of people I could ask for help and I would get it. There is a very sick girl in our neighborhood ( her mom has a blog) and lots of people in the neighborhood have been helping with money, babysitting, food and blood donations. I live in one of those tv neighborhoods where everyone knows each other. Our joke – how long does it take to walk the mile downtown and then back home – at least three hours.

2 Comments

  1. Peter said,

    Are you allowed out of your driveway?

  2. egb63 said,

    yup. It was about a week and a half….

Leave a Reply

