The Tomorrow People

March 8, 2008 at 4:23 pm (domestic life, fun, tv) (, , )

I just started rewatching The Tomorrow People on dvd. (yay netflix) If you don’t know the show, it was a British science fiction series made in the seventies. The tomorrow people were kids that ‘broke out’ and had all kinds of mind powers like telekineses , teleportation, and of course, telepathy. Plus they were unable to kill anyone on purpose. It had lots of cheesy special effects, aliens, and cool ideas. When I watched it ( early eighties? maybe) , I found it really enthralling. I think it was the first show I remember being a must-see show. Here is the wikipedia entry on the Tomorrow People . I know my mom got interested in the show, but what I can’t remember is if both my sisters watched it, or was it just one of them. Anyway , if I had been aware of fandom, this might have been my first one. Here is the opening sequence from the series ( not sure which season):

4 Comments

  1. jb said,

    Ahh, the Tomorrow People. Probably my first intro into SciFi TV (I never really watched Star Trek until Next Gen). I’m not sure if the other sister watched or if it was just the two of us. At the time, I didn’t realize how cheezy the the special effects were. I thought it was cool! A bunch of teenagers with special powers living w/out parents doing good deeds and saving the world from evil. Can’t get much better than that for after school entertainment. Oh and it was British – even cooler!

  2. egb63 said,

    Go to netflix and get it. You’ll love the fashion memories

  3. Kari said,

    Yes, I watched it too. It’s amazing how things progress so that once great special effects (and I’m not saying the Tomorrow People had great effects) now look cheesy. I dropped Netflix since I never seemed to watch anything I ordered. I don’t rent movies either.

  4. egb63 said,

    I go back and forth with netflix- sometimes I win, many times they win. Now as part of your subscriptions you can watch on your computer. The joy of netflix – there are 7/8 seasons of the tomorrow people.If half way through the series it gets boring,no more tomorrow people. Anyway , back to the special effects – they were cheesy for their time. tiny budget. some of that is supposed to have changed over time.

Leave a Reply

