Raking

March 10, 2008 at 2:45 pm (asthma, chronic conditions, domestic life) ()

I do as much of  the garden work by hand as I  can. Power tools in the garden annoy me. So if you have asthma,this means a lot more planning and paying attention to how you feel.  Spending  an eight hour day in the garden,not a good plan.  Ten to twelve hours a week is quite doable. The advantage to this plan is that you rarely get sore.  Raking is an exception. It is always hard, takes longer than expected, and gives me some sore muscles.  Ah well, at least I earned them

4 Comments

  1. danieBOB said,

    I always get blisters from raking… and shoveling too.

  2. egb63 said,

    one blister, I forgot to wear my gloves

  3. Kari said,

    You probably get more gardening done by hand because it should reduce the airborne pollen. I asked the MD about preventing the asthma I get from working out – she suggested using the rescue inhaler 15 minutes before exercising (I had problems when I first got to Newport with cold air and running, yuck). You may want to ask your MD if that would be a good way of trying to get more done in the garden.

  4. Peter said,

    A lot of time has past since the neighborhood kids borrowed leaves to make a bigger pile. They were told that they could keep them.

Leave a Reply

