Dinner

March 25, 2008 at 8:03 pm (domestic life, food, vegetarian) (, , )

Tonight’s dinner was a simple one –

Chopped salad – meaning romaine, carrots, tomato, can of corn( drained), toasted pecans and a sprinkle of goat cheese. The dressing was jarred pesto sauce thinned with lemon juice and whatever vinegar I grabbed.

cheese – smoked Gouda and a Cheddar/Stilton mix

and Something called San Francisco Polenta Bread  – I made it muffin form

Ingredients:

1 cup flour ( I only had whole wheat)

1 cup Polenta

3 tsp baking powder

1/2 tsp salt

1/4 cup sugar

1 egg beaten

1 cup milk ( I used low-fat soy , it was what I had)

1/4 cup oil

preheat oven to 425 . mix ingredients bake 20 – 25 minutes in 8X8 pan or muffin tins

Very yummy – crunchy tops. but notice that last ingredient – oil. I forgot it – completely.Honestly, I never missed it. the left over muffins might be hard – but a little butter and heating them up in the microwave ought to take care of that.

That’s the second time this week I misread a recipe. I tried to make Ellie Krieger’s baked Falafel, but misread the oven temperature. It was tasty, but over cooked. I will try it again, but using the correct oven temperature.

2 Comments

  1. Matt said,

    It was, needless to say, delcious. As was the falafel – it tasted right, but was a bit crumblier than planned.

    You’re wonderful, you.

  2. egb63 said,

    The left over corn muffins were just fine – They won’t last beyond today, but they wouldn’t anyway

Leave a Reply

