Cleaning with vinegar

May 5, 2008 at 2:46 pm (domestic life) (, )

So I’ve been talking about cleaning green with my on line friends. One of y friends H had great luck cleaning her kitchen floor with vinegar. My bathroom floor is evil. I thought I’d give it a try today, by cleaning my whole bathroom with vinegar.

solution: 2 cups of distilled white vinegar plus a few drops of lavender oil.

Time/ cleaning effectiveness : equal to commercial products

Smell: Way less than any commercial product. It might not be my favorite smell, but it was also gone less than twenty minutes later.

Bonus: I didn’t have to rinse the bathroom floor. Vinegar is a disinfectant, so the mold might actually be dead. Vinegar absorbs funky smells. The kitchen towels went into the laundry – bonus disinfect for the laundry, with out needing to worry about anything hurting the clothes.

For next time: spray vinegar and sprinkle stubborn spots with baking soda.

I really can’t see why I won’t use it again.

4 Comments

  1. Kari said,

    I’ve used vinegar for cleaning stainless steel countertops (Yokosuka had them) as well as the mirrors in the bathroom. Vinegar removes water stains from stainless steel more effectively than anything else I used. I’ve also gone back to using regular cleanser in the bathtub. The regular cleanser was effective against the stains left by those lovely Lush bath bombs we all love as well as long term stains.

    Be careful with mixing your own products – do not mix ammonia and bleach together. They create a noxious vapor that will send you off to the emergency room with chemical pneumonia. If you’re looking to mix your own more friendly products, please do some research. Usually Helpful Heloise has good tips without causing hazardous reactions.

  2. egb63 said,

    Actually , the point is I want simple and not smelly. Straight vinegar did exactly what I wanted. Baking soda would just give power. Too many cleaning products can’t be used around other cleaning products, which makes cleaning take longer. I’ve looked up/ checked the ingredients on commercial products all the time. And I’ve had green products that I reacted to so badly that I had to leave the house. So I am careful even with commercial products.

  3. jb said,

    Have you tried the Method cleaners? I like them a lot and found them to be effective.

  4. egb63 said,

    I don’t know Method cleaners. Cost? Smell? Multi purpose?

Leave a Reply

