In the garden again

May 18, 2008 at 5:33 pm (domestic life, garden) (, , )

After almost two weeks, I finally got back in the garden.  Asthma and the heatwave  kept me out.  Happily, I had D , a neighborhood kid/friend helping me.  If you know a twelve year old boy that is looking to earn some money , I recommend  hiring one for  odd jobs.  They are strong  enough to do a lot of things, they have the energy to  work  hard for  awhile,  and they are willing to do things your way.  ( of course, if they  are your kids, it is a whole different  matter).  Between D and I,  we produced  enough  garden  waste to cover 5 dead bodies.

Sadly , my tiny  little grass patch in the backyard is mostly dead.  Actually, I am not sad at all.  I  just need to do some research and find some nice, low ground cover.  I want something that is drought-tolerant ,  grows in mostly shade, and can deal  with some redwood liter.  I’m thinking short ( 6 inch ) grasses or something I can get in a few different colors.  But It is time to research.  If you any ideas for Northern CA , let me know.

4 Comments

  1. Matt H said,

    I find it….interesting that you quantify the volume of garden waste based on the number of bodies you could cover….

  2. danieBOB said,

    LOL, enough to cover 5 dead bodies… That’s kinda like Daniel’s old Taurus. It’s trunk was big enough to hold 5 dead bodies.

  3. egb63 said,

    It strikes me as funny to measure the garden leavings y how many dead bodies it covers.

    My mom had a Taurus, and the trunk was pretty big

  4. jb said,

    It wasn’t a Taurus, it was a Sable – even bigger. And If I recall correctly, you called it the the “drivable sofa” or something like that.

    Two houses ago, we’d measure garden waste piles by the size of the truck we could bury.

Leave a Reply

