Eat, Pray, Love

May 24, 2008 at 1:37 pm (book review, library) (, )

A bunch of my friends have read this book — and just went on and on about it. When I checked it out in the library catalog – there were 130 people waiting for it. I’m not crazy about memoirs, and even more leery of them when the word pray is involved. But people were talking about it, and I always feel like I should give the popular thing a try, to be a better librarian . ( That is why I read A Walk to Remember) So last week my name finally came up on the list, so I read the book.

If you haven’t heard of this book. it is the story of Elizabeth Gilbert. After a number of years of marriage, she realizes that she doesn’t want to ever be a mother and that a lot of the expectations she had for her life were not her expectations. After her divorce, she spends the next year rediscovering her self while exploring pleasure, prayer, and finding balance.

I spent one hot day last weekend reading Eat, Pray, Love. It is a fun book. Not deep, but a few insightful moments and a sharp sense of humor. Her description of her ‘friends’ depression and loneliness are amusing and vivid. My favorite section of the book,oddly enough, was Pray. Her struggles with meditation were interesting and well described. I believe that this is why her book is so popular. Her descriptions and insights are easily visualized.

A good fast read ,with a few laughs and just enough ‘oh’ moments to keep it interesting.

Leave a Reply

