ok, hot again

July 7, 2008 at 5:07 pm (domestic life, food, garden) (, )

But this time I seem to be doing it better. Helps if I actually believe the weather report and prepare. I woke up early and worked in the garden for about an hour. Starting just after 6 – really. I made corn chowder this weekend and I made a bunch of extra bacon.( I like bacon as a garnish on my corn chowder) . This morning I made a bacon- mushroom quiche with the left over bacon. I also made Ellie Krieger’s Cool Cucumber Soup. Tasty , even before it chilled. I am hoping to make a bulger wheat veggie salad a bit later. That should feed us during the warm part of the week with almost no work when we come home to a 80 + degree house.

6 Comments

  1. Kari said,

    6AM??!! How did that happen?

    Yes, the cool cucumber soup is delicious. I’ve made it twice now. I think the grapes add an essential bit of sweetness to the soup. M & D both enjoyed it. The pea soup in her cook book is okay cold, I like it better warm. I’m also tempted to add curry into the pea soup.

    My work schedule is light this week. I may walk down to the beach later today to swim.

  2. egb63 said,

    Grapes? garnish or blended in?

  3. Kari said,

    From her cook book, it’s a “white gazpacho.” The recipe does not have any dairy and the heat of the dish comes from 3 cloves of garlic. When serving, “garnish” each dish with cubes of seeded cucumber, scallions, toasted slivered almonds and green grapes that have been halved. The entire recipe is done in a food processor. Very tasty and enjoyable. I thought M could serve it at the garden club.

  4. Kari said,

    Here’s the link to the recipe I’ve been making. http://www.foodnetwork.com/food/recipes/recipe/0,,FOOD_9936_37457,00.html?rsrc=like

  5. DM said,

    It was very good, I thinking bridge club. Grapes were a garno. I’m also thinking dinner sometime this week.

  6. egb63 said,

    Now I understand, you are looking at a different recipe. I tried this one because it looked very refreshing ( it is ) and I have a co-worker with Gestational Diabetes. And that diet is extreamely strict. Much more strict than the average diet for people with diabetes. This soup is perfect for her. Dairy ( which she has to have lots of ) and one of her free foods ( cucumber). But I am going to try the other soup some day.

Leave a Reply

