Wicked Lovely

August 20, 2008 at 4:00 pm (book review, books, Uncategorized) (, , )

I picked up Wicked Lovely because somebody suggested to me that it might be something to reccomend instead of Twilight. ( for the record,I didn’t like Twilight) . At first, I didn’t know why someone thought of it in relationship to Twilight. It is not a vampire story. However, it is a wonderful, impossibly romantic story. Wicked Lovely is a retelling of the Snow Queen. It is well done and a really quick moving tale. We see things through various characters’ eyes and the perspective change is well done. Aislinn, our heroine, grows and becomes strong in the story. All of her changes are believable and what you hope a teenage girl can become. Very satisfying to both my inner romantic teenager and the practical woman I am.

In the copy of Wicked Lovely I read, it include some Q & As from melissa marr and her playlist. I didn’t know a lot of the songs she had listened to , but I had to laugh when I found out that Closer, by the Nine Inch Nails was the Music when Aislinn goes to Rath ( the faerie bar). It instantly brought back the scene and I could see the rhythm of the song in th scene.

Looking forward to melssa marr’s new book, Ink Exchange.

Leave a Reply

