made of fail

September 22, 2008 at 1:45 pm (domestic life, rant, tech, tv) ()

I signed up for AT&T Uverse. Today was supposed to be the install day. Unfortunately, the sales person either didn’t know what she was talking about or she deliberately misled me.

The problem : I live in an old house. I have a limited number of grounded outlets. This issue was discussed with the salesperson.She felt – no problem ,everything is wireless.

ha.Wrong. I could get it installed– but it would mean exposed wires and an extra 75.00 charge. Negating the entire first month’s savings. and well, ugly.

You know, if we had figured out it wouldn’t work, no problem. I know there is electrical work to do. I have Comcast,and my original TIVO. No suffering here. But, I have to admit ,I feel like a new toy was dangled in front of me and then taken away.

3 Comments

  1. motoproponent said,

    The ATT Uverse seems to be a good service/product but they fail miserably when it comes to educating the sales force and communicating with the installation contractors. I tried for two weeks to get some one to my house to install it. I even had to miss a day of work to wait around for a tech that never got the dispatch to install it. Even though my Comcast is inferior to the Mighty Uverse, Comcast actually showed up and actually put it in my house.

  2. egb63 said,

    I suspect that I will someday get uverse — there are a number of things I like about it….but at this point I was so frustrated, that I am glad my house can’t get it yet. I don’t have to think about it.

  3. egb63 said,

    I suspect that I will someday get uverse — there are a number of things I like about it….but at this point I was so frustrated, that I am glad my house can’t get it yet. I don’t have to think about it.

Leave a Reply

