the experiment begins

October 15, 2008 at 2:04 pm (domestic life, garden) (, , )

Well, a week ago it hadn’t crossed my mind. Today, I have a winter garden . I took a 3 by 4 section of my garden and added 2 cubic yards of soil with lots of good stuff added to it. I’m supposed to add more fertilizer after 3 months — I think 2 would be better ( DEC 15th) . I just picked up plants at Target so I have a mix of what was available there. Currently there are 6 cauliflower plants, 1 bok choy , 1 swiss chard , and 1 ‘gourmet lettuce mix’. Peas, beets,parsnips,carrots,and radishes are other things that have been suggested. So I am not sure if I am done planting yet.

Planting this time of year is different. Still hot.( the cat gave up on being in the sun long before I finished.) I guess it is because the light is different,and the air isn’t as soft as it is in spring. In spring, planting feels like hope. In fall, it feels like survival.

3 Comments

  1. DM said,

    I think you’re right, it does feel like survival. The way the finacial world is going, it may be for survival.

  2. Kari said,

    And since I’m not moving until late November, no survival garden for me.

  3. DM said,

    I’ll send you a care package of radishes

Leave a Reply

