boiled peanuts

October 25, 2008 at 12:24 pm (domestic life, food, fun) (, )

I almost forgot that I  wanted to go to the farmer’s market today.  Our  friend D is the youngest  member of a local jazz group , and I wanted to hear  him  play.  I am  extra  glad when  I  saw  the piles  of  raw peanuts  for  sale.  I  love  boiled  peanuts  and I usually  only  get  them in SC when we visit  my folks.  But one  of  the joys of CA  is there are  so many different cuisines– so  you can  find almost  anything.  I have  no idea  what anyone else  does with raw  peanuts, but I  make southern  style  boiled  peanuts.

I know  they  boil for awhile – but I had to look it up.  There is a wikipedia article on boiled peanuts.  I liked  this fact:

The process of boiling peanuts also draws antioxidants from the shells. The boiled peanuts have four times the antioxidants of raw or roasted peanuts.

a yummy excuse for eating yummy  peanuty salt goodness

3 Comments

  1. DM said,

    I CAN’T BELIEVE YOU MADE BOILED PEANUT TODAY. WE WERE IN CHARLESTON TODAY WITH THE P’S, AT CHARLESTON’S FARMER’S MARKET AND ALMOST BOUGHT BOILED PEANUTS, BUT SADLY THEY HAVE TO MUCH SALT FOR YOU KNOW WHO.

  2. egb63 said,

    mine aren’t salty enough, but they are still yummy

  3. DM said,

    GARLIC SALT OR POWDER IS ALSO GOOD. YOU CAN ALSO FIND DEEP FRIED PEANUTS IN DIFFERENT SPICY FLAVORS, THOSE YOU EAT THE SHELL AND NUT.

Leave a Reply

