tonight

November 5, 2008 at 12:13 am (politics) (, )

Obama was not my original choice. We disagree in so many ways. But I saw something tonight I really haven’t seen in awhile.

This election had many firsts and many stories that will be told for generations. But one that’s on my mind tonight is about a woman who cast her ballot in Atlanta. She’s a lot like the millions of others who stood in line to make their voice heard in this election except for one thing – Ann Nixon Cooper is 106 years old.

She was born just a generation past slavery; a time when there were no cars on the road or planes in the sky; when someone like her couldn’t vote for two reasons – because she was a woman and because of the color of her skin.

And tonight, I think about all that she’s seen throughout her century in America – the heartache and the hope; the struggle and the progress; the times we were told that we can’t, and the people who pressed on with that American creed: Yes we can.

At a time when women’s voices were silenced and their hopes dismissed, she lived to see them stand up and speak out and reach for the ballot. Yes we can.

( only part; read more here)

and then there was a drum circle and singing at the flag pole. I don’t remember the last time patriotic songs made me cry

I ‘m not sure where I will be tomorrow — but tonight I feel hopeful and it was amazing to feel surrounded by hope.

There are many places I disagree with Obama–but I will not argue with hope

2 Comments

  1. DM said,

    I ‘m not sure I ever told you about living in the South durning segregation. This is what I remember. Two sets of water fountains one marked ” White’s Only” and the other “Colored Only” . The restroom marked for White’s only. I think they had to go around the back of the building. The movie houses had a seperate entrance and they had to sit in the balancy. In third grade I went to a brand new school build across the road from a very large “colored” community that they could not attend. The only “Colored” person I meet was the women that did ironing for us in our home until I worked at the stand up counter in a dime store. They were not allowed to sit at the counter and have breakfast, lunch or even a coke.

    Yesterday was an emotional day for me also. I am hopeful.

  2. egb63 said,

    actually, you did. For some reason the water fountains made a big impression on me.

    One of the more interesting things I keep realizing — I keep for getting that Obama is half black . I see his skin color, but I think of him as an intelligent , thoughtful, articulate man. I sorta forget that electing him is important in an historical sense.

Leave a Reply

