Early Oranges

January 17, 2009 at 3:45 pm (garden) ()

DH is always eager for  the first oranges off the tree.  I keep trying to say that unless they fall off the tree into  your hand they  really aren’t quite ripe.  I couldn’t resist today.  I  had to try one.  Oranges when they aren’t quite ripe are interesting to eat.  They are sweet , but they are also very, very  sharp.  they make your tongue tingle and  you feel  the orange in your  ears.  I don’t regret my early  orange, but it makes me long for the perfectly ripe ones.

4 Comments

  1. DM said,

    I picked our Myer’s Lemon and made a lemon poppyseed bundt pan cake. We all enjoyed it very much. I want to try an lemon upside down cake and a roasted lemon checken dish soon. I have two or thee left on the tree.

  2. egb63 said,

    hmmm… I could probably make an orange cake

  3. Susan said,

    I just did this today! You expressed the sensation quite right. I expect there hasn’t been quite enough rain yet for the sweetness to reach its maximum level.

  4. DH said,

    In your ears? Very synaesthetic.

    But an orange cake would be wonderful. Yum.

Leave a Reply

