2009 Newbery Medal

January 26, 2009 at 1:25 pm (books, library) (, , )

The Graveyard Book by Neil Gaiman  —Whooo Hoo !   I  suspect it  will fly off the shelves like Holes does.   I am also excited to see that Savvy got an honor  award.  I think  the newbery  committee  did an excellent  job  this  year.

Actually, I  am really surprised to  see The Graveyard  Book as a winner.  It  starts  out in a really grim  place.  An entire family is killed, except  for  the baby.  The baby  wanders into a graveyard and, at his parents’ request, the ghosts  in the graveyard  take care of him.  It is about taking charge of your life and choosing your own path.   It is a hopeful book.  Grim and playful . I am so pleased.

2 Comments

  1. Ty said,

    Interesting…I’ll have to check this one out. I hadn’t heard of it until now. Sounds good!

  2. egb63 said,

    Looks like it might be right up your alley.

Leave a Reply

