The Diary of Pelly D.

February 16, 2009 at 10:36 pm (books) (, )

I read this book last night. Oddly , the more I have to read the more I seem to be reading. Mostly kid and teen books — but I also read a mystery yesterday. Anyway , back to Pelly.

It takes place in the future after a war. An ill- educated Construction worker finds a diary written by a young woman, Pelly. Her Diary is the beginning of a war. In her diary Pelly is a shallow high school girl; comfortable and rich. Water difficulties change things on her planet and prejudices against genetic ancestors come out. The marking, the suspicion, the hiding , etc. make things feels similar to Anne Frank.

The book was compelling. I read it until I finished it. However, in the end , I was disappointed. Toni V., the finder/reader of the diary , start to feel ‘uncomfortable’. Nothing happens. I know his is a series, I know there is more to come, but I felt wanting. and not in a good way.

1 Comment

  1. Anonymous said,

    this book is a really good read and i cant wait to read the second

Leave a Reply

