Witch’s boy

May 9, 2009 at 9:52 pm (book review, books) (, , )

witchsboy
One of my fellow librarians has been pushing this book, maybe a little too hard. I absolutely loved it , but maybe not everyone will like it ( the fools). I’m looking forward to reading more books by Michael Gruber.
In the Witch’s Boy, we have a fairy tale. A witch of indeterminate age finds a baby . He is ugly, but she decides to keep him and raise him. She is not particularly good at this job, but she has a nanny and a tutor for him. A bear and a demon. Lump ( the boy’s public name ) grows up, but needs to learn more about being a human being. I have to admit, I really didn’t like Lump. But I loved all the ‘true tellings’ of my old favorite tales. and it does have the proper fairytale ending.

Fun and involving.

Leave a Reply

