Prince of Thieves

October 26, 2009 at 9:22 pm (book review) (, )

 

princeCompletely by accident I  read an  excellent book.  Most  of what I read  is frivolous, and purely  for  entertainment.  forgettable.  Recently I  read the beginnings of a vampire  series called The  Strain by  Guillermo del Toro and Chuck Hogan.  It was  interesting ,  but not great.  After I  finished to book,  I  went pokeing around on the internet and  found  that Chuck  Hogan had written other books, including  one  called  Prince  of  Thieves.  It  had great reviews, and looked  like a caper/wrong  side  of  the tracks novel , plus  some thing more.  It  didn’t  really look  like  my kind  of book.  It  looked very serious. But I put  it on hold.  When I  brought it  home, I wasn’t even sure  if I  was going to read it.  About a week ago , I  picked it  up.  Less than  one page in, I  was  hooked. The  book  takes  plae is a small part of Boston  – Charlestown.  The  first few paragraphs catch a rhythm  that is Boston.  This is the story  of Doug MacRay, thief and recovering alcoholic.  Bam, we are in the middle of a robbery with Doug and his buds.  And we meet Claire the  assistant bank  manager. And  a little  latter Frawley of  the FBI.  The story  meanders along like an old car on a pothole filled  city street. You know  there has to be an end, and only  fantasy will be pretty, but I wasn’t really  sure  how it had to end until we were at  the end. And the last chapter broke my heart.

2 Comments

  1. Peter said,

    Sounds very Irish to me. Too bad it isn’t in Back Bay and South Boston.

  2. teaxgyDay said,

    It looks like you are a real professional. Did you study about the issue? hehe

Leave a Reply

