walking

February 23, 2011 at 2:28 pm (walking)

So ,  yesterday  I  walked  the  almost  4  miles  from  my  house  to  work.   Felt  pretty  good  when  I got  to work,  energized.   It  didn’t  last  all  day,  but  it  wasn’t  bad.

Things  to  note  for  the  future:

Bring  more  food.   I  had  the  shakes  when I first  got  to  work – and  my  stomach  was  howling.

Drink less  water  before  walking — pit  stops  are  limited.   Drink  while  walking  instead.

My  backpack  with  work  stuff  is  heavy  than  I  thought.   I  took  it  off and  then  got  up — and  almost  fell over  because  I felt  out  of  balance.   I  don’t  think  my  back pack  is  more  than  10  lbs,  but  it  made  a difference.

I  have  to  pay  attention  to  my  feet.  They  kept  getting  stiff  yesterday.   and  all  night.   they  were  fine  this  morning,  but  I’m  going  to  pay attention.

Over  all I  was  slight  stiff  this  morning,  but moving  around  doing  normal  stuff  and  I  feel   fine  now.   Ther e are  spots  that are  stiff,  but  not  much.

6 Comments

  1. Kari said,

    Not bad.

    I have to make sure I have the right socks on so I don’t get blisters on the bottom of my feet.

  2. Peter said,

    Eventually you will find that you have to walk and will feel much better for it.

  3. egb63 said,

    I know . I’m all ready annoyed at the rain coming tomorrow

  4. bjb said,

    Then you just put on your coat and go . you have wellies.

    • egb63 said,

      nope, I don’t . But I got on the elptical trainner for 35 minutes. Which is oddly harder work than walking for miles

  5. daniebob said,

    Good for you!

    I’m about 6 miles from work, but it would involve walking through some really scary neighborhoods. So, I try to get 10,000 steps in at work (4 miles) and another 2-3,000 at home.

Leave a Reply

