Trainning nerves

May 3, 2011 at 1:36 pm (Uncategorized, walking) (, )

here is  where life  is starting to  get  interesting

Monday Rest
Tuesday 3 miles Easy walking
Wednesday 15 minutes Moderate cross-training
Thursday 5 miles Moderate walking
Friday 30 minutes Easy cross-training
Saturday 6 miles Easy walking
Sunday 5 miles Easy walking

last week I walked about 19 miles. I haven’t really checked the schedual to see where I am vs the trainning schedual for a few weeks. And i am not so sure this was a good week to check it. – mostly because a longer walk Sat and Sunday just doesn’t work for me – I work on Saturday.

the current plan for this week has me at 18 -20 miles. One day with a 6 mile walk one day with two three mile walks. Plus some gardening hours. there is room to get the 22 miles in – just not sure I can fit another longer walk in ( over 4 Miles). I guess this means next week i start on a tighter schedule. ( with more stuff on the calander) .

4 Comments

  1. Kari said,

    Just remember the training schedules suggests workout days based on the fact that most people work M-F, 40 hours. 19 miles is right on schedule. You can spread out the miles as much as you want/can.

    I’m worried about finding a job and fitting in the walking, plus asking for time off to do the three day walk, wondering how I’m going to handle walking longer distances without the dog, will my foot stop bothering me when I walk past 6 miles, etc.

    Have you noticed any improvement in your fitness levels or blood glucose levels since walking?

  2. egb63 said,

    The biggest thing fitness wise is that while I may be tired after a longer walk — I don’t really feel it the next day.

    thanks for the reassuances. I know logically I know logically that how i train this very week isn’t going to matter. I just need to get some longer back to back walks in and some millage.

    up until now, I haven’t had to give up much – a little coffee shop time , or couch time. But now I am getting to the stage where I need to actually skip a day or two at the coffee shop. or block out time and not do something else.

  3. daniebob said,

    It can be hard to find the time to do the longer walks. I’m starting to get up into longer runs, so I’m getting concerned. I know I’ll figure it out – so will you!

    If you’re having to give up reading time you could try CDBooks. A couple of my patrons swear by them. They listen to the book in one ear, and have the other ear free to listen for road noise.

  4. egb63 said,

    I waiting for Overdrive! Actually — one ear is a good idea — I don’t like to listen when I walk , because I need to be aware. how ever, one ear might be ok

Leave a Reply

