Walking update

June 27, 2011 at 11:48 am (Uncategorized) (, )

This weekend  was  hard.  I  don’t  know  why.  I  walked  12 on Saturday  and 7 on  sunday.  I  got  blisters for  the first  time on sunday . I was intensely  cranky  on  Saturday .

things  that I am guessing were part of  the problem

1) I  did  not  sleep  well on  friday

2) on Saturday I did not get to  go  my  planned  route ( there was a body in  the river ) so  I  had to  walk back  past  my  house in  order  hit  12  miles ( I had  hoped for  14) .

3)  it  was a spare  the air  week  – and even  though it was officially  over , I  think  the effects  linger

4) on  sunday  the trail breeze  was  minimal.

5)  my  feet  felt  tender  after sunday I  think  that  means  new  socks.

6)  I  had  stuff going on  that  didn’t  want to  miss saturday  night  and  sunday  afternoon.

7) not  sure I had  the right food  saturday

Now  I did  the  walking, but there are a few  things I think I  need to  do :

Walk more  6 to  8  mile  walks – time wise  that means 90 to 120  minutes of  brisk  walking maybe  up to  180  at a slow  pace ( for  8  miles)

new  shoes

new  socks

food experimentation. 

right  now  a  nap  sounds  better

2 Comments

  1. Kari said,

    It was a tough weekend here also. I did the 7 on Sat and 12 on Sun, but the 7 was ugly and the 12 – well 10 were on the only trail that has some hills. Nothing big, but I can’t get too picky about that. The geography of coastal southern VA is flat. Overall, I just feel tired. And I too got a blister on Sunday. I should have changed my socks when I got home and went to take Lulu on the final 2 miles. I think sand in my socks was the culprit.

    The good news, my feet don’t feel sore today and 45 mins doing laps wasn’t so bad. Last week, I did too much in the pool. Tomorrow, we’re planning on 8 miles.

    I’m not sure how I’m going to get in 9 and 13 in SC this weekend.

  2. egb63 said,

    I’ve had a couple of weeks where i didn’t get t he planned milage in. It hasn’t really seemed to a problem. I’d like to do 5 0r 6 tomorrow and 6 to 8 on wednseday — but it might be closer to 5 each day – because Oddly I have other things to do. ( like buy shoes ) . I might have to skip the coffee shop once aweek ( no not that !) to get in some of the longer walks ( 6- 8 miles) that I think I need…

Leave a Reply

