is it worth the time?

July 7, 2011 at 12:26 pm (Uncategorized) (, )

A month or so ago , a friend was astounded that I sometimes walk to and from work . :How long does it take”? she asked. When I said it was an hour or so each way – she waeven more astonished and wondered if it was ‘a lot of time to spend just walking’.

I did not get to do my more usual two hour walk on Tuesday. A doctor’s appointment sort of got in the way. That ate up one of my hours. And I ended up with an extra hour at home . I watched an episode of Glee, swept the kitchen floor , did the dishes , threw in a load of laundry, and poked at my computer. So not a waste of time, but I’m not sure it was time well spent. I didn’t waste time – but it wasn’t the same as good exercise and thinking time.

As I said to my friend who thought an hour of walking was a long time – there are better and worse ways to spend your time. Laundry and dihes are not the best ways to spend time

3 Comments

  1. bjb said,

    you are so right. I would much rather walk or pull weeds

  2. Peter said,

    Walking to work makes work and the place very different than driving.

Leave a Reply

