socks

July 14, 2011 at 12:30 pm (Uncategorized) (, )

no really, I ‘m talking about socks. Which , if you know me, is ridiculous. I ‘m not a sock person. I don’t really ike to wear them . They complicate getting dressed. Ok, I do like my cute, sexy, over the knee socks. But making sure I have a clean matching pair just adds one more complication. Of course, Now I am walking a bazillion miles a week. Socks actually matter . They make a difference. Not only am I wearing socks, I actually have options about fit and feel. And now a new complication. If you walk a lot – they wear out. Not visibly, but I can feel it. I have to get rid of socks that look perfectly good, but are not. And I may have to start pulling a Shelly and carrying a second pair. The last two miles of my walk yesterday were slower – mostly due to the possibility of getting blisters from my socks.

I miss my carefree sockless days.

9 Comments

  1. bjb said,

    I love your complaints. I wish I could do it as well as you do.

    Thanks for my Thursday chuckle.

  2. egb63 said,

    your welcome.

    and I wrote options when I meant opinions , but both work. hmmm.

  3. Peter said,

    When backpacking I use a very thin pair under a more coarse pair. I never got blisters, of course the shoe fit was very good.
    Peter

  4. egb63 said,

    in this case – my socks are wearing out. They’ve gone a few hundred miles. last time I wore them, they were ok. this time, not so much. And so far, I’ve only had a blister between my toes – most likely caused by sand.

    • egb63 said,

      wait — I don’t want to talk about socks!

  5. Jenny said,

    Seriously?!? A blog post about socks?!?

    First you geek out about sneakers. Now you are geeking out about socks. WTH happened to my sister? I mean I always knew you were a geek, but you used to geek out about things like books or BtVS.

    • Matt said,

      Pot, please meet kettle 😉

  6. daniebob said,

    They have special socks that are just for walking/running. They wick away moisture and fit super awesome so that you don’t have to worry about blisters. They’re also supposed to last longer too.

    • egb63 said,

      I have good socks. it is talking about socks that I don’t want to do…

Leave a Reply

