So if I was going to do it over….

August 1, 2011 at 6:41 am (diabetes, fitness, resolution, walking) ()

The walk is not until September 9th , so I am not finished with my training . But I have a few thoughts on how I would do things differently. Mostly , I would train for a longer period of time.

Things felt reasonable up until 12 miles. , But now the training feels a little pushed to me. I think I would have liked to spent a little longer walking 12 miles. Mostly because yesterday was the first time 13 seemed pretty good – even though I did not want to walk at all (I did 17). I think if I had more time at 12 /13 miles I would be faster. ( Seriously, it took me all day to walk 17 miles ) and I might be able to train my body to use stored food better. Right now I need to eat all the time in order not to crash. This makes sense – diabetes is a metabolic disorder – the body is not efficient in using food. I will probably always eat more than the non-diabetic when doing extreme activities, but I believe it could be more efficient.

So I have been having thoughts about the future. I really don’t want to lose what I’ve gained. I want 8 miles of walking to stay easy. I wouldn’t mind being faster ( no I do not want to run ) . I need to get back some flexibility . ( I never had much – and I’ve lost some of what little I had walking ) I’m trying to come up with a combination of walking and yoga – flexible enough that I can get back some time for reading, hanging with my DH and other social stuff – but rigid enough that I can’t skip by saying – oh I’ll do something tomorrow . Because, while I have discovered that it is a myth that missing a work out sets you back a step – and that missing a week can actually be good for you – I want missing a work out to be because I am missing it , not just putting it off.

I started off talking about if I could redo – and ended up with a plan for the future … I guess that is one of the points of looking back.

6 Comments

  1. Kari Buchanan said,

    I so get the more at 12. It seemed as if the training schedule took so long to get up to 10 and then boom, 13, 14, 15, 16, and 17 pretty much in successive weeks.

    I took a look at my own time for the 17 miles. The first 10 miles, I did in 3 hours 23 mins. It looks like it was right on track for just over 20 min mile, except I took a bathroom break and I dropped Lulu off at the house and fed her. So I know the pace was much faster than 20 min/mile. The second half of the walk was for 7 miles. It took 2 hours and 50 mins – a 24 min/mile pace. Way off the suggested pace of 20 min/mile. I could blame it on Lulu, but I’m not sure that I can really do that as I knew I was hurting.

    I’m thinking after the Komen walk, I need to go back to some yoga, a little weight lifting, and less walking. A combination of swimming and elliptical for aerobic activity would be good. The walking may go down to 3 miles for Lulu’s sake with periodic 5 mile walks.

  2. Ronnie said,

    kudos on your efforts!
    did you ever think that you’d be building an exercise plan long-term?

    • egb63 said,

      I think the first time I got interested was in college and then there was a second boost when I was diagnosised with diabetes. But it was trying to find something that made rational sense in my world I’ve never worked a regular 9- 5 job, I do not like moving or thinking in the morningand then there were all these stories – if you don’t work out for a week you’ll lose all your condition , or even three times awwk for 30 minutes is all you need, etc. This particular goal has 1) has dispelled a lot of myths. 2) actually made a difference in fitness level and 3) and let me learn what kind of schedule makes sense for me. I think I have a better chance of sticking to something , and I have a better cahnce of ‘restarting’ if I fall off the wagon ( or treadmill)

  3. egb63 said,

    I don’t really like the eliptical – but I think it has to be part of the bad weather plan . Or dark plan… I’m thinking 3/ 4 mile walks with occassional 4/8 mile walks but with yoga and yard work

  4. Jenny said,

    I’m thinking my after SGK plan will be 1 day per week with Tess strength and core training (which has increased my flexibility), 2x per week on the elliptical (I really love it) and 1x per week of a 6 to 8 mi walk.

    I’ve fallen in love with the Sawyer Camp trail. Watching the flora change over the weeks has been fascinating so want to keep watching it change. And if I didn’t go regularly, I’d miss my visits with the trees.

    I’ll probably try some of the classes at the gym in place of the elliptical to avoid getting bored. I hear the Zumba class is a blast.

    • egb63 said,

      you have a great trail – and i am really happy with my trail as well. I have a plan to go to the little neighborhood park ( about 4.5 miles ) read a book and eat some lunch then walk back. leisurely. and there are a couple of side trails before that park that I am curious about

Leave a Reply

