walking and diabetes

October 20, 2011 at 11:52 am (chronic conditions, diabetes, walking) (, , )

You  will read  and you  will hear – that  walking will make diabetes better.I’ve  even  hear  the word  cure. When I  was  first diagnosed – I could go  for a  walk  and  see  my numbers  drop.   Sadly,  it  doesn’t  work that  way  anymore.  In  fact  it is difficult  for  me to get  my  numbers to  budge. Even when I  trained  for  walking 60  miles. I know I’m  not  alone (  I read  about a  guy  who  ran his first  half  marathon – and also  hit his  highest  blood sugar ever, while  running it) .  So  nothing is  quite  simple.

So What’s  the point?  Well I  actually  think everybody  that  can  walk,should  walk. There  was  an article  in last week’s chronicle that   had  some fascinating  information.  Just  15  minutes  of  walking, six days a week, can add 3 years to your life. More is better, but a small amount of time can give you three more years to hang with your friends and family. That sounds like a deal to me

There is  a group called EveryBodyWalk that is trying to encourage everyone to walk . Check them out.

2 Comments

  1. bjb said,

    LISTENING TO NPR THIS AFTERNOON WERE INTERVIEWS WITH SENIORS IN A RETIREMENT HOME. THERE WAS A MOJORITY OF FOLKS SAYING EXERCISE EVERYDAY. KEEP GOING AND HAVE HOBBIES OR INTEREST TO KEEP YOUR MIND ACTIVE.

  2. Peter said,

    I exercise three times a week vigorously at the Naval Hospitals gym. Trying not to be too cynical it may only get me three extra weeks drooling in a rest home.
    Dad

Leave a Reply

