food – one more time

March 13, 2012 at 1:30 pm (asthma, chronic conditions, diabetes, food) (, )

A  heart  surgeon  talks about  what  we  should eat to prevent heart disease. Now he isn’t the first to say it, but it is the way nutritionist have been talking for years. When I first started reading about nutrition ( I was 12) they were saying similar things – Stay away from processed  food, eat more veggies and fruits.

here is a quote from the article:

What you can do is choose whole foods your grandmother served and not those your mom turned to as grocery store aisles filled with manufactured foods. By eliminating inflammatory foods and adding essential nutrients from fresh unprocessed food, you will reverse years of damage in your arteries and throughout your body from consuming the typical American diet.

a couple of other notes: Asthma is a disease of inflammation. and it looks like there is a connection between type 2 diabetes and inflamation. ( there are articles). .

here is an amazing story Dr Terry Whahls and her recovery from MS – based on changing her diet:

<br> <br>

So coming across  two  pieces  of  media about food feels  like a  reminder. I do  not  expect to  cure  , but I know I feel  better with more veggies , less  grains , and almost  no processed food.   and I  know I  don’t  get enough magnesium .   Time to up  the veggies  and nuts — and get rid of  the plastic covered food from the factory .

3 Comments

  1. Kari Buchanan said,

    …and our Mother did not serve us heavily processed foods.

    • bjb said,

      Thank you, Kari. I have gotten lazy in resent years. So I guess it time to get back to fresher home made eats.

  2. egb63 said,

    No – mom did not, . and I don’t eat a lot of things that are on the high end of processed – like mac and cheese in a box or cookies , etc. But bread – , crackers – etc. look at the lables. even if they are whole grain- they still add presevatives that I don’t need. Now, I’m not going start making bread all the time, but I don’t need to eat as much.

    For awhile I was getting between 8- 10 serving of fruit and veggies. Weight was better, energy was higher , my diabetes was better. So it is time to return to that.

Leave a Reply

