Why haven’t you?

April 12, 2013 at 6:21 pm (asthma, chronic conditions, diabetes, fitness, food) ()

I have a friend that is a weight loss coach . She is good at it and I have a lot of respect for her and the job she does. Today she asked  the question  ( to a general audience ) why haven’t you lost weight?

It got me thinking…and I figured it out . It is not lack of knowledge. I’ve been interested in food and nutrition since I was 12 years old. It is not lack of discipline. You don’t train to walk 60 miles without a good level of discipline.

It is a matter of brain space.

Some brain space is always occupied by my health. Two chronic conditions. I’m either trying to manage them so they don’t affect my life or I’m trying to manage the effects they are having on my life. ( go find protein, I need to eat a veggie, did I take my drugs?, go for a walk, if I pull weeds will my asthma kick in )

work brain space. I am only at work for 37.5 hours a week , but like most people who enjoy their work – I spend a lot of time thinking about work. ( that would make a great teen program, I should post about that , what should I put on the FB page today, how long has it  been since I  reviewed a book)

household management. most of the day-to-day stuff is mine so there  are constant list going through my brain . ( need cat food, garbage day, what can we do for dinner tonight)

and most of that is going on in the background. I’m not sure I have enough processor power to add one more background program in my life. (  and I really  don’t  want to )  It obviously fits in with the health, but it is going up a level. Partly because when I get hungry , zombies have nothing on me.

So ,  there is today’s  answer.

1 Comment

  1. Peter said,

    Three great blogs, soulless, right on; brain space the best; 50’s, correct. I’ve not been reading this part of my computer for a while.

Leave a Reply

