junk or gourmet?

August 13, 2013 at 8:59 pm (books) ()

I  was  reading a novel and the woman  in  the novel  lies.   Not  because  she  is  a spy in  the civil  war, not because it is  not  her  story, but  because  she is ashamed.  It is an historical  romance , and  what  she did  was considered disgraceful ,but  the hero  knows most  of  the story  anyway.  And it is going to  come out.  A  first,  I  thought  I  was  just  being me . I like  people  to  be  more  honest.   However, in  this case , it just feels like an  overly  -dramatic  piece of action  to  what  was a quiet  drama  of a marriage that was  supposed  to  grow  into  a  love  match.

So there is a  time  when I  would have  finished it  anyway.   I can’t  waste  my  time  now.  I  used to  think of  romance  novels  as candy.   Now,  I  want  them  to  be gourmet  candy. No  time  for  bad  candy, anymore.

Leave a Reply

