april national poetry month

April 3, 2014 at 3:41 pm (Uncategorized) (, , , )

When I was a child I wrote poems. I grew up with poetry: Mother Goose, Robert Frost , a. A. Milne, Robert Service, Lewis Carroll, and Robert Burns are the earliest poems I remember. In books, on playgrounds, in school, and at the dinner table. So I wrote poems. Once I learned to write, and learned that I could write a poem, I did. Somewhere in my teen years, I stopped. I know I was hyper-critical of myself back then, but I also knew I was writing sappy, sloppy, somewhat ridiculous stuff. I tried again in college, but it wasn’t good.

I know what happened in college. I studied too much about symbolism, and more importantly, I was not willing to expose myself. My poetry had me hiding behind words. It is hard to express things when you hide behind a wall of words.
The worst thing about not writing poetry was that I stopped reading it. It stopped talking to me. It was no longer part of my life.

Then came the internet. Youtube, and Blogging and Facebook. Part of my job in the library was to post stuff. April is national poetry month which gave me something easy to post. Lots of classic poetry read by beautiful voices. And on Youtube, there was spoken word. Real, honest, accessible, emotionally strong words. new poems.

Poetry is back in my life . Here are two of my favorite spoke word artists.
Sarah Kay and Shane Koyczan

1 Comment

  1. Peter Buchanan said,

    How about R.W. Service and the Yukon?

Leave a Reply

