smoothies, green smoothies

April 8, 2014 at 6:21 pm (Uncategorized) (, , )

Smoothies are tasty. of course, that pack a lot of nutrition into an easy to swallow meal. If you make them at home, you can make a lot of choices about what goes in them. There is also a little magic. If you have read about green smoothies – you know that you can add leafy greens to a smoothie and not really know they are there. ( spinach being the green that is used most)

I have found that once a week – when I work the later shift – that is a good day for a smoothie . I am not really hungry , but I might not get a chance to eat before 5 , so I need something. However, I have diabetes and if you look at how most smoothies are made – it is fruit, fruit juice, leaves, yogurt and sweetener. While tasty, it doesn’t work for me. Too many carbohydrates at one meal and depending on the smoothie , maybe too many for one day. Also, because of diabetes, I have spent a lot of time trying to train my palate to prefer less sweet foods. So I am looking for ideas for more veggie-based smoothies.

Today tried one that is part fruit/part veggie. 1 cup of blueberries ( 30g carbohydrates aprox.) ( which is the top end of what I want) 2 cups spinach , 1 cup water, large spoonful greek yogurt (1/4 cup?). With that mix you get a fair amount of green flavor,and blueberry – which goes together well. It is not sweet but not overly vegetable juice. The recipe ( I know,smoothie recipe) had no yogurt – so it might have been more vegetable-juice like. It also had ginger, which would have been tasty. It was a successful experiment.

So I am on a quest for veggie smoothie ideas – any ideas?

Leave a Reply

