Ellie Krieger

February 19, 2008 at 11:23 am (book review, food) (, , )

I started watching Ellie Krieger on the food network. She is a nutritionist and the first thing I noticed is that she cooks following good eating guidelines. Lot of veggies, whole grains, fruits and lean meat. Plus she uses the portion sizes that are often recommended, such as 4 ounces of meat per person. However, when I tried the recipes on her show, that is when I became a really big fan Her recipes are fantastic, very flavorful, and healthy. I love food – and my worst food habit is that if food is boring – I go look for more food. Not a problem with her recipes.

So a couple of days ago I picked up her book small changes, big results. This is not a recipe book , but ‘an action plan for a better life’. I’m going to start by saying that her basic ideas, not earth shattering. You have heard them all before. However, she breaks things down into small steps over twelve weeks. She discusses food and exercise , and also addresses stress. Her plan of making small changes over 12 weeks is quite doable, and she even has ideas of what to do if you get sick or otherwise have setbacks. Her approach isn’t all or nothing . I’m not sure I’ll follow her plan – but I think it might inspire my own plan.

She has two other books The Foods You Crave and Healthy Cooking Secrets that look like cookbooks. I am looking forward to finding them .

Permalink 2 Comments