more on crushpad

January 20, 2008 at 4:19 pm (social networking, web 2.0, wine)

I was Just running around the web – and ran across this article- that puts crushpad in the web2.0 world. I love connections.

How companies like Crushpad will change our world by ZDNet‘s Alan Graham — It is hard to become inspired in the world of web 2.0 these days. There seems to be so many copycat, cookie cutter business out there, that it is getting harder and harder to find the brilliant idea amongst the din of the social networking crowd. On one hand, the old guard of the web […]

Permalink Leave a Comment

Antidote to a busy week

January 20, 2008 at 1:57 pm (fun, wine) (, , , )

My DH and I spent Saturday in the best possible way after a busy week. We took Bart into SF , had lunch, then visited our friend T at his place of work. T works at
Crushpad. Crushpad is a winery in SF. Yes, a winery in the city. They buy grapes from vineyards all over the state( Oregon and Washington,too) and make specialty wines. As an individual, group, restaurant, or corporation you can buy a barrel and be as involved as you want in wine making process. Our friend showed us around the different rooms and told us some of the techniques ( old and modern) that are used to bring out the potential in the grapes. We also got to taste some of the young wines in the barrel. I’ve been to wineries before , and done tastings, but this was different. It was different because I got to taste the same kind of wine made from grapes from different vineyards. Chardonnay,for example, can have a much wider variety of flavors than I thought.

Walking around the barrels, learning how something I enjoy is made, while tasting what I enjoy, is a great way to spend a weekend.

Permalink Leave a Comment